Thoughts on Ron and Hermione (or, The Dangers of Not Reading The Whole Article)

I was rather alarmed today to look on Twitter and find some recent comments from JK Rowling, stating that the relationship between Ron and Hermione was “wish fulfilment” on her part, and that the two ended up together “for reasons that have very little to do with literature and far more to do with me clinging to the plot as I first imagined it.”

Like many fans, I was shocked to find the author of these beloved books saying such things. After all, Rowling knows these characters better than anyone, and years later, she’s become unsure about something as important as whether two particular characters should have become a couple? It made me a bit sad, as well: I had no problem envisioning Ron and Hermione together. I actually had a little more trouble with Harry and Ginny: I had always liked the idea of them getting together, but Harry’s feelings for Ginny developed too abruptly for me.

Later, I went on another news website talking about the same thing – an article that began by saying how JK Rowling had revealed in an interview that Hermione should have gotten together with Harry, not Ron. This alarmed me even more. Surely she couldn’t be serious? Harry and Hermione were perfectly fine as friends! (See this excellent essay on the subject.)

I was originally going to write a post on this blog detailing my feelings on the matter, but then I noticed something.

All the quotes from the interview on these various news articles are Rowling (and Emma Watson) saying that maybe Ron and Hermione wouldn’t have been happy. I can’t find any quote from Rowling saying, “I think Hermione should have ended up with Harry instead.”

Maybe I’m wrong. The full interview is in a magazine and I haven’t read it; maybe there is a bit where Rowling says something along those lines and it just hasn’t appeared on the Internet. But if not…well, I guess that’ll teach me to be more attentive next time. One wonders what Rowling will think of these misrepresentations.

One also wonders who she thinks Hermione should have gotten together with instead. Neville? Krum? Or maybe she doesn’t need a man to make it happen, she gets off being free?

For the record, I do believe that Ron and Hermione had good chemistry and the relationship could have worked out fine. But I’m not the one who created them.

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Harry Potter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts on Ron and Hermione (or, The Dangers of Not Reading The Whole Article)

  1. Elle says:

    Now you mention it Harry and Ginny being together didn’t make much sense.

    Like

    • I didn’t mind Harry and Ginny being a couple per se – in fact, after I first discovered fanfiction, I quite liked the idea. I just felt the build-up of the romantic relationship was handled much better with Ron and Hermione. Harry’s feelings for Ginny in Half Blood Prince felt very sudden, and there wasn’t much time to really develop the relationship, seeing as how they were only together for the final quarter of HBP and then apart for most of Deathly Hallows.

      Like

  2. Elle says:

    Well they do say absence makes the heart grow fonder.
    Yes Harry’s feelings for Ginny did seem very sudden whereas Ginny had a crush bordering on hero worship for Harry from the outset. But has my 15 year old nephew pointed out, dating your best friends sister is just too weird.

    Like

Leave a Reply

