The Winter Olympics: Eating Up My Spare Time For Two Weeks

For the past two weeks, an awful lot of my attention has been given to the Winter Olympics, which is odd considering I’ve paid very little attention to it before. I hardly remember acknowledging it even in 2010 – but then, Great Britain did only win one medal.

However, my interest in the Olympics had been piqued by London 2012, so I wanted to follow Sochi 2014 as well, despite supporting a country who would consider three medals a good haul!

  • Started off having a good laugh when the fifth Olympic ring failed to open in the opening ceremony. Loved how the closing ceremony made fun of it, though.
  • Spent the Sunday morning watching the snowboarding slopestyle and was pleasantly surprised when Jenny Jones won a bronze medal on just the second day! Apparently some people complained to the BBC about Aimee Fuller and co’s supposedly unprofessional commentary; I personally enjoyed it.
  • I barely even knew what curling was before the Olympics started, but like many other Brits, I really got into it once I actually saw it. During the week, I could only watch it on a computer without sound during my lunch break, so I didn’t realise until the weekend how much shouting is involved! Unfortunately I can’t try it myself as the nearest curling centre is in Flintshire. And apparently they’re pretty well booked right now anyway!
  • Sadly I wasn’t able to watch Lizzy Yarnold’s fourth run in the skeleton that got her the gold medal, but congratulations, Lizzy! Let’s make it three-in-a-row for the skeleton in 2018!
  • Poor Elise Christie – how unlucky can one athlete be? Short track speed skating looks like such a precarious sport where so many things can go wrong – heck, twelve years ago Stephen Bradbury won a gold medal just because everyone else crashed on the final turn – but for things to go wrong in three separate events must be crushing, particularly when you’re considered a medal favourite. Here’s hoping Elise is still in shape for 2018, to really show her potential.
  • It’s a shame that the last few days weren’t as good as they could have been for Team GB: first the men didn’t bring their a-game to the curling final and got absolutely slaughtered by Canada, then Elise Christie went out again, then the bobsledders narrowly missed out on a medal. Still, a fantastic job to win four medals, surpassing our target of three and equalling our all-time Winter Olympic record! Also thanks a lot to the BBC for providing such excellent coverage!

Favourite moment: Got to be that final stone by Dave Murdoch in the men’s curling tie-breaker against Norway. I cheered very loudly for that one!

Favourite sport: Curling, naturally, but I also liked watching the downhill skiing, and the slopestyle.

So, wondering what I’m going to do now that the Olympics are over (besides, you know, useful things). I suppose there’s the Paralympics to look forward to. Two words: wheelchair curling!

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

