What’s been going on this week

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to start entering short story competitions again – and this week I finally sent one off! I currently have a list of unfinished ideas for my next stories, so I’m going to work on one of them next before deciding whether and where to submit it.

Am very pleased that after being absent since before I went to Guatemala, Agents of SHIELD is back on UK TV again. I’ve seen a few comments on the Internet from people saying they were disappointed with this show, maybe because the Avengers aren’t actually in it – but I really love it. The stories aren’t quite Doctor Who standard but still solid, and the characters make it especially good. The team dynamic reminds me a lot of Primeval, but the SHIELD characters are a lot more interesting, plus the show itself is much less formulaic.

Took a little day out to Blackpool today. Visited the Sealife Centre, which I remembered really enjoying years ago – today, in comparison, it felt a bit underwhelming, maybe because of the size. Also went to the top of the tower:

Tower 4Tower 3Tower 2Tower 1

I’m currently doing a short photography course so I wanted to practice my manual photography here. The problem with this was that when you’re learning and trying out new settings in class, you can forget to change them back when you’re out doing your own photography. The result was that I took all my tower photos in RAW format, forcing a bit of fiddling to turn them into JPEG just so I could view them on the computer!

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

