2014 World Cup – The Quarter Finals

Made time to watch as much of the quarter finals as I could:

  • France vs Germany – wasn’t able to see much of this one, but what I saw wasn’t that great.
  • Brazil vs Colombia – more fun to watch. Not the result I was hoping for, but Brazil did deserve the win, and James Rodriguez may still get the Golden Boot.
  • Argentina vs Belgium – brilliant goal from Gonzalo Higuain, but Argentina still aren’t impressive, especially in the second half when Belgium were doing most of the work. I don’t want to see Argentina get any further.
  • Netherlands vs Costa Rica – it’s not often that a nil-nil can be called exciting, but that was some extra time period. Yes, Netherlands had almost all the shots, and Costa Rica were mostly defending – but that was great defending. And then in the second half of extra time when Costa Rica actually looked like they might score – one of the most thrilling periods of this World Cup so far! I was supporting Netherlands, and they were the better side, but you’ve really got to hand it to Costa Rica. They might actually have made it to the final if they’d won the shootout.

Based on quarter-final performances, I’m betting on (or hoping for) a Brazil-Netherlands final. I still want the Netherlands to win the whole thing, but I’m actually a little concerned about the reaction if Brazil don’t win. Having seen just how invested the country is in their home team, I’m starting to understand why that loss to Uruguay in 1950 was such a big deal.

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Football and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

