Doctor Who – Series 8, Episode 3: “Robot of Sherwood”

Well, no heavy soul-searching in this one – just a good old-fashioned fun adventure, and it definitely worked.

(Warning: spoilers)

The Good:

  • Clara’s sheer enthusiasm at the initial situation – always a nice thing to see in a companion. Just a pity the Doctor didn’t appreciate it so much.
  • Excellent action, particularly the sword-on-spoon swordfight at the beginning.
  • Also excellent comedy, particularly with the Doctor and Robin in the dungeon. I also liked the Doctor’s revelation about his archery skills towards the end – well, even he can’t be good at everything.
  • I like how this Doctor manages to be something of a grump without it making him unlikeable.
  • Ben Miller seemed to be channeling Roger Delgado’s Master at times in his performance as the Sheriff – or maybe it was the beard.
  • I had expected that Robin would turn out to be an illusion of some kind as the Doctor thought, so it was nice to find that he was the real thing after all.

The Not So Good:

  • Felt a bit overly simplistic at times – there wasn’t much innovative about it.
  • It felt like the episode was a bit unclear about the nature of the Sheriff – so presumably he was actually a robot, but from his conversation with Clara, he did seem to initially believe he was human and had encountered the robots when they arrived. Was he lying to Clara, or did he realise the truth and then just shrug it off?
  • The twist at the end: so if Marian was living in the area, what was stopping her from being with Robin, and how did he not know where she was? (If he did actually know, it doesn’t seem like much of a present from the Doctor.)

A brilliant romp of an episode – rating: 4/5.

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in TV Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doctor Who – Series 8, Episode 3: “Robot of Sherwood”

  1. Aidan says:

    The Delgado thing definitely struck me – especially when you consider that the Master will turn up to try and mess with the creation of the Magna Carta a few years later.

    I did enjoy this story though I felt the ending is a bit of a mess.

    Like

    • Glad it wasn’t just me! Are you referring to The King’s Demons? Had to look that up as there’s still a lot of classic episodes I haven’t seen. Delgado is my favourite Master from what I have seen, though.

      Like

      • Aidan says:

        Yep – that’s the story. The Delgado Master is my favorite too but the Ainley Master is fun in that story. đŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

