NaNoWriMo: Day Nineteen

The good news is that I’m on 35,000 words, over two-thirds of the way through, two days ahead of schedule. The bad news is that it’s a struggle right now and I’m not sure if that’s going to change.

I’m skipping ahead quite a bit at this point, or at least only writing partial scenes before moving on to the next one. A lot of the time when I sit down at my laptop, I’m not sure what I want to write, and having a good outline does help in this regard as it tells me what scenes I can choose from. I don’t want to go too far ahead, however, in case I lose track of how the characters have been changing and what they recollect. And ultimately, I’m not feeling very affectionate towards this story. It’s gotten a bit dull. And having a guy burst in on the main characters with a gun in his hand really wouldn’t work here.

Last night, I tried to do something different, to see if that would revitalise me – this was partly because I’ve come down with a horrible cold and needed revitalisation badly. Unfortunately, I spent about ten minutes staring at a blank screen. I couldn’t think of anything else I wanted to write. I freewrote about 250 words on a manned comet landing – inspired, of course, by recent events – before giving up and going back to the main story.

I’m not too worried about not finishing. Even on 35,000 words and leaving some bits out, I’m about halfway through the outline, so there’s still plenty to work with for those last 15,000. I’ve got a couple of days coming up where I can take a break from writing – maybe it will do me good. I just hope when I’m both done with NaNoWriMo and healthy again, I can think more creatively and give myself a suitable new project.

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo: Day Nineteen

  1. Elle says:

    Sometimes taking a break and thinking of nothing helps. It allows those little fragments of inspiration to burst through. Boil up some lemons and oranges, add a spoon of honey and a shot of whiskey, your cold will feel better in no time.

    Like

  2. Will give that a go – I could certainly use a break.

    I’ve had plenty of different remedies suggested to me in the past few days – hot lemonade seemed the most effective for my coughing. (I have mild asthma which is always aggravated when I get a cold.) Luckily I’m on the mend anyway now. I’ll bear whiskey in mind for next time, so thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

