NaNoWriMo: Day Twenty Four

The past few days have seen a bit of turmoil, writing-wise.

On Thursday, feeling quite drained and wanting to do something different from my novel, I ended up doing some freewriting based on one of the prompts that our Municipal Liaisons put on the regional group’s forum thread. From a picture of an old mansion under a stormy sky, I ended up filling my daily word count on the beginning of a ghost story, and felt quite refreshed by it.

At that point, with other places to be on Friday and Saturday, I put my laptop away and barely even thought about writing in that time.

On Sunday, having returned home, I got the laptop back out – and felt very reluctant to continue writing my main story. It just didn’t feel fun anymore. With my outline, I knew what I could write, but I didn’t particularly want to. On other stories, if this happened, I could make drastic changes – but this was historical fiction.

So I carried on freewriting instead. That was fine – except that I still had about 10,000 words to go and wanted to spend it on something more substantial.

When I brought my concerns to my friends in the regional group, they reckoned that I was probably best off sticking to the main story rather than completely changing things at this late stage in the game. One suggestion that they made was forgetting about historical accuracy – which has indeed bogged me down at some points, though not quite to the degree that I expected – and changing things more freely, doing things the way I want to make a more interesting story.

So I’m trying to take this approach, as well as focussing on the elements I’ve already enjoyed writing most, such as the scenes featuring certain characters or a bit of science. As of this evening, I’m just short of 41k, and I reckon I’ll be remaining loyal to the main story until the end now.

I don’t expect I’ll do anything more with this story when NaNoWriMo is over, but that’s OK. I’ve already said that NaNoWriMo is an opportunity for learning and experimenting, and even if this isn’t the best story, I’ve still learned plenty from it.

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month nine times so far), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

