My 100th Post!

So yes, this is it. My 100th post on this blog!

After realising that I was approaching this milestone a few weeks ago, I wasn’t sure what to do for it. My blog doesn’t have one central theme; I’ve ended up writing all sorts of different stuff on here. So what can I do that’s special and appropriate? Finally, I decided to do what felt right, and what feels right is a little reflection.

My first post on this blog was on 27th January 2014, 330 days ago. That means, on average, I’ve done one blog post every 3.3 days. It may not be fiction, but this is my longest writing project ever, and there’s no end in sight.

I said in my first post that 2014 felt full of possibilities. Ultimately, it hasn’t been quite what I’d expected. There were a few New Year’s Resolutions that I didn’t end up fulfilling. I’ve only entered one short story competition this year, for instance. And I lost interest in the fanfiction I’d written for last year’s NaNoWriMo. And in many ways, the overall picture of my life is not very different from how it was at the beginning of the year – there are things I’d like to be different, but those things are not entirely within my control.

Yet 2014 has still been an enjoyable year. It’s interesting that while not everything that I’d planned or tried to plan came to pass, there have been lots of good things that I didn’t expect. At the beginning of the year, I didn’t know I was going to be a contributor to an online magazine, or spend a week living on a sailboat in Italy looking for dolphins, or finally visit Monkey World in Dorset, or meet an Apollo astronaut. But that’s what happened. At the moment, as I’m facing the New Year, I’m in a very positive mood.

So perhaps making plans for an upcoming year is like outlining a novel. I’m already working on my resolutions for 2015, and I’m trying to give them a bit more precision and clarity than I did in 2014, which should make them easier to achieve, just as it’s easier to write with a more detailed outline. But at the same time, you need to expect surprises, the things you don’t know are going to spring up, and possibly be ready to adjust your plans as a result.

I certainly didn’t know how much I was going to do on this blog when I started out. I just had some vague ideas about book and film reviews and some random thoughts here and there – and that is largely what I’ve done for 330 days, with some other things like travel reports and chronicling NaNoWriMo. I don’t know how large I expected it to grow from the beginning, but I certainly wasn’t thinking about when I’d get to the 100 post mark. It’s been a very positive experience, allowing me to develop my skills and my discipline; I certainly look at books and films in a different way after writing so many reviews. And blogging has allowed me to correspond with some really great people too.

Having this blog has been one of the best things about 2014. I’m very pleased with it, and I’ve had a lot of fun writing it, and I hope all the people who’ve followed it have liked reading it as well. So to everyone who’s following my blog, or have just read a single bit of it: thank you very much.

And now to begin the journey towards the 200th post! Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month nine times so far), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

