Happy New Year!

Happy new year, everybody!

So I’ve been thinking about just what I want to achieve in 2015. While I’m not going to share all of my New Year’s resolutions with the Internet, here’s a few of them:

1. Read at least 40 books
In 2014, I properly logged my reading history for the first time. I completed 42 books and left 3 unfinished (not including the ones I have on the go at the moment). This year, I’m going to remain realistic and keep the target at 40. My Kindle wish list is very long at the moment, and needs whittling down.

2. Watch at least one film I haven’t seen before every week
I neglected my film-watching a bit in 2014, and I’d like to be able to do more reviews. I have quite a long list of well-known films that I’ve never got round to watching yet, so I want to use this resolution to get through at least some of them. This week, it was Close Encounters of the Third Kind, as that happened to be on TV. I liked the concept – apparently benevolent UFOs that are sighted by multiple people – and how the film develops it, particularly with what the government tells everyone and the effect it has on the main character’s family. But the last segment, while artistically pleasing, felt rather anti-climactic. I tend to encounter quite a few classic films that I don’t really get into, but to each his own, I guess.

3. Get one of my NaNoWriMo novels in a fit state to be published
I have too many projects on my computer that have just been sitting, gathering dust, while I talk about hopefully doing something with them someday. Well, no more! Time for some serious editing!

4. Write at least one short story every month
I want to produce more complete work than I did in 2014, rather than just a bunch of drabbles, and I want to enter more competitions as well.

5. Keep a nature journal
I should have done this before now, really. I want to keep a better record of things I see at my local Wildlife Trust reserve, and in other places too.

6. Go volunteering abroad again
I haven’t decided where yet, but I’m intending to get away again this year – hopefully something along the lines of Project Chicchan!

Obviously, there’s plenty of new things I want to try this year, but there’s also taking things that I’ve already been doing, and just doing them better and often. And as I said in my 100th post, hopefully there’ll be plenty of unexpected experiences this year too!

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month nine times so far), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Fantastic goals! My own reading goal is also 40 books, down from a far too-optimistic 50 in 2014. I actually read 29 in 2014, so I’m hoping that I can hit 40 this year!

    Like

    • Thank you! A few of my friends on Goodreads seem to have 40 as an annual target as well. When I was monitoring my progress through the year, I wasn’t sure how good a total it was: Stephen King said in “On Writing” that he reads 70-80 a year and considers himself a slow reader – maybe he has more time on his hands. Good luck with your reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I would imagine that, as a full time writer, he has a lot more time for reading. Personally, I spend 9-10 hours a day either at my day job or commuting to it, so if I could get a few of those back, I could read a lot more, too. Or maybe King’s just super modest lol. Good luck to you, too!

        Like

Leave a Reply

