Preston Comic Con 2015!

CC1

Last Saturday was another event I’ve been looking forward to for a while: the second Preston Comic Con! As you would expect, there were some absolutely fantastic costumes on display, from superheroes to Game of Thrones to Harry Potter. And there was plenty on offer at the stalls too. It was the novels I was most interested in – I picked up The Poisonwood Shadows by Christina Crook, The Casebook of Sam Spallucci by A.S. Chambers, and Reaper’s Rhythm by Clare Davidson.

CC4

I myself was dressed in the same costume I wore last time: the relatively low-key Ninth Doctor, with leather jacket, burgundy v-neck, black trousers and sonic screwdriver. It’s simple, comfortable and one of the Doctor outfits I like best on the show overall. I actually got more attention than I expected – an Eleventh Doctor wanted a picture with me, and I even found someone in almost the exact same costume!

Then, of course, there were the guests. All the people I spoke to were really lovely and open, and I was able to share more words with them than I have at previous Comic Cons, despite getting a little star-struck! I ended up getting three autographs, and photos to go with them.

SLM

The first was from Sarah Louise Madison, who has appeared in multiple episodes of Doctor Who portraying Weeping Angels (which I had always thought were just models, not actual people). I later asked at the Doctor Who panel whether Sarah can recognise herself in Weeping Angel episodes despite being concealed under makeup and a mask. She explained that she has a particular way of holding her arms: for example, she was the Angel on the CCTV screen in The Time of Angels, and the imprisoned Angel in The Angels Take Manhattan.

ALP

Next I went to see Andrew Lee Potts, best known for playing resident dinosaur nerd Connor Temple in Primeval. And of course, I had to ask him if he knew what had happened to Claudia Brown. (I’m really quite shocked by the fact that my ‘Whatever Happened To Claudia Brown?’ post is by far the most viewed post on my entire blog – clearly people want to know!) Andrew couldn’t tell me exactly where Claudia had disappeared to, though he did explain some of the thought processes involved behind the scenes. He also pointed me in the direction of his web series Wireless – which, incidentally, features the voice of Lucy Brown, the same actress who played Claudia.

SMC

Finally, there was the Seventh Doctor himself, Sylvester McCoy! I took particular delight in how he rolled the ‘r’ in Richard, in true Seventh Doctor fashion.

CC2 CC5

I also went to a couple of panels. First, there was the Game of Thrones panel, featuring Ian McElhinney (Ser Barristan Selmy), Eugene Simon (Lancel Lannister), Ian Beattie (Ser Meryn Trant) and Ian Whyte (who has played a number of roles, including giants, White Walkers, and The Mountain in Season 2). Plenty of interesting discussion ensued, including their favourite scenes, how they thought should sit on the Iron Throne (Eugene favoured Tommen because he’s such a pushover), and Eugene getting very in depth on Lancel’s motivations.

Then there was a joint Doctor Who-Hobbit panel, where Sylvester McCoy (who appeared in the Hobbit films as Radagast the Brown) was joined by Sarah Louise Madison, and Adam Brown who played Ori the dwarf. There was a lot of humour once again, with the highlight coming early on as Sylvester demonstrated his musical talent with the spoons!

I had hoped for a fun day, and it turned out even more fun than I had expected; I even met a couple of old friends whom I hadn’t seen in years. Thanks a lot to Preston Comic Con for putting on a great event!

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preston Comic Con 2015!

  1. smilingldsgirl says:

    Looks like a blast! I can’t wait to go to mine next month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

