The Animated Oscars Tag

Rachel Wagner has just completed her review of the Best Animated Oscars, explaining what she thought of each nominee and how she believes should have won – and now she’s tagged me for her Animated Oscars tag! So, here goes:

1. A film that should have been nominated for an Oscar but wasn’t
The Shining

2. A terrible film that was nominated for an Oscar
Snow White and the Huntsman (nominated for Costume Design and Visual Effects)

3. A movie that won an Oscar you don’t care for
The Apartment

4. A film about a robot you love
Bicentennial Man

5. A film with no dialogue you love
I’m sorry to say I can’t recall seeing a proper feature film with no dialogue, so I’m going to cheat and say March of the Penguins.

6. A film you like but everyone else loves
Up

7. A film which has grown on you each time you see it
Airplane!

8. A movie you wish you could convince everyone to watch
The 1999 version of A Christmas Carol

9. An underrated comedy
Fierce Creatures

10. What is a movie made for kids (or marketed to kids) that scares you or that would have scared you.
James and the Giant Peach

11. A movie based on a graphic novel you love
V For Vendetta

12. A sequel better than the original
Terminator 2: Judgement Day

13. Favourite movie with ghosts
The Muppet Christmas Carol

14. Favourite Wes Anderson film
Fantastic Mr Fox

15. Favourite Tim Burton movie
Batman, narrowly followed by Ed Wood.

16. A movie where you like parts but really don’t like other parts
Iron Man 2

17. A movie about a family you love
Speed Racer

18. A movie based on a true story you love
Apollo 13

19. A movie that takes a strange turn in Act 3
Interstellar

20. Favorite Marvel movie
Spider-Man 2 is my favourite movie based on a Marvel property; The Avengers is my favourite movie from Marvel Studios.

21. Favorite Disney Princess movie
Beauty and the Beast

22. Favorite movie about two friends
The Shawshank Redemption

23. Film you want to see after watching these videos about the nominees
Song of the Sea

Thanks for tagging me, Rachel! To anyone else reading this, go check out her blog at http://54disneyreviews.com, particularly if you love Disney!

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month nine times so far), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Film Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Animated Oscars Tag

  1. smilingldsgirl says:

    Great job and such a speedy response! I also love the 1999 Christmas Carol so glad you mentioned that. It is probably the most accurate in its portrayal of Scrooge and includes many details like the lighthouse visit you almost never see. I’ve also never heard of Fierce Creatures so will have to check that out.
    Beauty and the Beast is also one of my favorite Disney Princess films.

    Thanks again

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always watch that Christmas Carol around Christmas time – it always gets me into the spirit, particularly the montage that Christmas Present takes Scrooge on. I put it as the answer to Number 8 because it’s not that high-profile and I feel more people should watch it.
      Fierce Creatures is a British comedy about a zoo – it stars John Cleese, Jamie Lee Curtis and Kevin Kline. These actors also worked together on A Fish Called Wanda, but unlike most people, I think Fierce Creatures is better.

      Liked by 1 person

      • smilingldsgirl says:

        I agree on Christmas Carol. An underrated gem and Patrick Stewart is one of my favorite Scrooge performances.
        I actually haven’t seen Fish Called Wanda either but definitely will watch both because I’ve heard great things.

        Also I totally agree on Snow White and the Huntsman. Only redeeming value in that film for me is Charlize Theron is kind of fun.

        Like

    • It felt like the filmmakers were deliberately trying to make a Snow White film for the Twilight audience: there’s a forced love triangle, and Kristen Stewart is in full Bella mode. I’ve heard that Stewart actually can act well, but she certainly doesn’t show it in Snow White. And I can’t buy Kristen Stewart being “fairer” than Charlize Theron, either.

      Liked by 1 person

      • smilingldsgirl says:

        So agree on all your points. It was totally twilight Snow White. Same with Burtons Alice in Wonderland and Red Riding Hood. Groan…
        Seriously though the idea Kristen Stewart is more beautiful than Charlize is such nonsense

        Like

Leave a Reply

