NaNoWriMo 2015 – Day Four

“Here begins the private journal of Fortunata Conalldin, princess of Lacertra, daughter of King Brutus and Queen Joanna, most glorious and beautiful of…No. I can’t start this diary like that.”

Since a few kind people said they liked the opening sentences of my previous NaNoWriMo novels which I posted earlier, I thought I should probably begin by posting the opening of this year’s.

Despite my best intentions, I haven’t written any fiction in a while. I’m not sure what’s been holding me back, but I haven’t kept my New Year’s resolution of writing one short story a month (I’ve done four and a half), and have only given one of my novel drafts a partial once-over. If I’m going to do better in the future, I’m going to need more discipline, creativity, and perhaps self-confidence.

But with National Novel Writing Month, I’ve got a deadline, and that gets me going – which in turn reminds me that I do actually enjoy writing.

On Day 1, I was only able to do about 150 words before I had to head off to Pontefract for the Jim Lovell lecture. When I got home, it had been a long day and I was very tired. I was determined to do more writing, but I ended up falling slightly short of the daily target before running out of energy, and the content itself was mostly rambling. On the bright side, I was already liking Princess Fortunata, even though she spends most of the first chapter complaining.

On Day 2, I got back on target, and I’m still there at the moment. Following a write-in event tonight, I’m at 7781 words, and I haven’t even needed any backstory infodumps to build my word count. Yet.

As usual, the writing’s not brilliant. Every time I begin NaNoWriMo, it feels like the first time – I’d like to think my writing has improved since the earliest days, but that seems to be on a subconscious level. However, I am enjoying the inspiration that comes from this speedy writing – as the initial ideas are unloaded out of my brain and into the word processor, extra details I hadn’t yet considered materialise to go with them.

The exciting parts of the story is still to come, but what I’ve got right now is making me optimistic that what follows will be fun.

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2015 – Day Four

  1. smilingldsgirl says:

    Fun to hear your first sentence. I’m like you in that having the deadline helps me so much. That’s the great gift of NaNoWriMo. 7781 not too shabby!

    Like

Leave a Reply

