NaNoWriMo 2015: Day Twenty-Nine – Done It Again!

NaNo-2015-Winner-Banner

It’s been a hard NaNoWriMo this year. Not just because of the words struggling to come – that happens to me more often than not around the two-thirds mark – but because of the demands on my time. I’ve had to work late some nights, and I’ve had other activities on: last weekend, I went to a university lecture day and thus lost two days worth of writing.

But, for the seventh time in November, I did it! I was a little disappointed as I’ve always finished by the 28th before – but considering I already lost two days, it’s taken me 27 days to write 50,000 words.

The characters of The Cobra Princess have been knocking around in my head for a while, and I’m glad I was able to get them out and into a real story. There’s quite a bit than I’m pleased with, despite its status as a clumsy first draft: some revelations and character motivations materialised smoothly outside of my outline, and I’m happy with how the story basically documents the consequences of my protagonist’s decisions building up and spiralling out of control until it will require something truly spectacular to stabilise things again. That spectacular thing hasn’t actually been written yet – I’m at 50,000 words but the story’s not finished, though I’ve skipped around less than I have in previous NaNoWriMos.

I now need to keep riding this writing momentum into December: finishing this story, catching up on my New Year’s resolution of writing some short stories, and keeping myself motivated for next year’s projects.

I’d also like to thank the members of the Lancashire and Cumbria regional NaNo group, particularly the MLs Jacki and Rebecca and how they’ve organised things. The write-ins have been particularly enjoyable and productive this year, and the constant support everybody has been giving each other has helped a lot. So if anyone in the group is reading this: you’re all awesome.

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2015: Day Twenty-Nine – Done It Again!

  1. smilingldsgirl says:

    Congrats!! You did it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

