Would You Rather: Reader Edition

Having just been thinking about reading habits, and after finding this game on Kristen P’s blog, I couldn’t resist giving it a go.

Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?
Standalones. I’d rather experience as many universes as possible, and getting through a series can be hard work sometimes.

Would you rather only read male or female authors?
Makes no difference whatsoever to me.

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?
I’ll substitute Barnes and Noble for Waterstone’s since I live in the UK. If the Amazon option includes shopping with your Kindle, then I’ll go with that: it’s a difficult choice, but as much as I love browsing in Waterstone’s, I also love the ability to get a desired book (some of which may not be found in a local bookshop) so quickly on the Kindle. I’m not a patient man.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?
TV shows, as this gives more room to do them justice. I’d like to see the Harry Potter books adapted for TV – it may not be for many years, but surely there’s got to be another adaptation at some point.

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?
5 books per week. It would certainly eat into my time, but 5 pages a day would drive me mad with frustration.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?
A professional author. Creating my own stories would make me happier than just judging others. As Anton Ego says in Ratatouille, “The bitter truth we critics must face is that in the grand scheme of things, the average piece of junk is probably more meaningful than our criticism designating it so.”

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?
A bookseller. I’ve had a little experience of library work and it had its good days, but working in a bookshop would probably be more stimulating on a day-to-day basis.

Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?
Every other genre but my favourite, because really I find it difficult to pick a favourite genre at all. I’d say fantasy if I were pushed, but if I could never read fantasy again, I’d probably get by on everything else.

Would you rather read your writing aloud to a roomful of loved ones or strangers?
I’d be embarassed either way, but I’d be more comfortable with my loved ones.

Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?
Though it seems sacrilegious, I’ll say e-books. I really don’t mind having a Kindle in my hand; sometimes, I even prefer it to a physical book.

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Would You Rather: Reader Edition

  1. This is a great game! I’m struggling to read 50 pages a day with my books right now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. smilingldsgirl says:

    Oh might have to do this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

