Update: Camp NaNoWriMo and Harry Potter

A couple of things to talk about right now.

Firstly, I am doing Camp NaNoWriMo for this month – though maybe ‘doing’ isn’t the right word, because it’s proving a hard job. My aim was to finish the story I failed to complete in Camp NaNoWriMo 2014: I struggled to create an outline – mostly it was a matter of getting the second act to work – and eventually came up with a bullet-point list of scenes that I reckoned would be enough.

But after an okay start, I’ve been finding it difficult to muster enthusiasm: sometimes I just feel like I’m hitting a brick wall and only garbage comes out on the page. I’m not too far behind, but right now my main task is re-discovering my love for this story, or else finding something else to write about that I do love.

Secondly, tonight I took part in the first of a series of Harry Potter discussions with my friend Rachel Wagner and her friends Jeremy and Abby Kidd. I hadn’t done anything like this before online, so I was a bit nervous, but we all had a fun time discussing Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (or Sorcerer’s Stone, as the other participants all know it). Rachel is planning a series of monthly film discussions, leading up to the release of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Take a look!

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month seven times so far, plus three Camp Nanowrimos), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Harry Potter, Miscellaneous, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update: Camp NaNoWriMo and Harry Potter

  1. smilingldsgirl says:

    Thanks for participating. It was so much fun! Good luck with your writing too

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

