NaNoWriMo 2016 – Day Twenty-Seven

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_winner

Waking up this morning, I was on 45,846 words. Without anything else pressing to do today, I decided, “Screw it, let’s see if we can finish.” So after about an hour’s writing in the morning and a longer sprint this afternoon, I made it to 50,089 words (based on my Microsoft Word counter – the NaNo website puts it a little higher) and have completed NaNoWriMo for the eighth year in a row!

Feeling pretty chuffed, especially since I’ve been so busy with other things this month.

As I previously mentioned, the story is based around the sinking of the RMS Lusitania, and the last couple of days primarily dealt with writing about the sinking itself. I was surprised that I ended up taking so much story to get to this point. In my story about the Titanic for Camp NaNoWriMo 2012, the ship hits the iceberg 32,462 words in. In this story, there are 44,066 words before the torpedo hits the Lusitania. Partly, it’s because my Titanic story was more character-based, with the Titanic as the backdrop, and this current one was more plot-driven, so there was more to deal with before the climax. And partly, it’s because the sinking itself is considerably shorter. The Lusitania sank in just 18 minutes – compared to 2 hours and 40 minutes for the Titanic – so there wasn’t much time for contemplation and conversation; the main characters were just racing to save themselves. It was a fast-paced scene to write, and I was feeling pretty sombre by the end of it.

The story itself isn’t quite over yet, though: I got to 50,000 just at the end of the climax, so there’s still the aftermath and the epilogue to deal with. I do like to write ‘The End’ on my story before the month is out, so that’s the remaining task for the next three days.

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month nine times so far), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2016 – Day Twenty-Seven

  1. smilingldsgirl says:

    Congratulations! I know how busy you’ve been so bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. NeverWriter says:

    Congratulations! Nice sprint at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

