His Pick, Her Pick – Academy Award Winners

Tonight, Rachel Wagner and I did another ‘His Pick, Her Pick’ podcast, where we each pick a film the other hasn’t seen, watch them and discuss them both. With this year’s Academy Award nominations not far away, we decided to choose previous winners of the Academy Award for Best Picture. Rachel’s nomination was the 2002 winner, A Beautiful Mind, while mine was the 1976 winner, One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest.

It was a fun discussion which led in some interesting directions, such as whether these two films really should have won their Academy Awards – Rachel felt Jaws should have won in 1976, and I felt The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring should have won in 2002 – as well as some discussion of mental illness, a central subject in both films, and whether it is portrayed in a respectful or realistic manner.

I hope I come across okay in this podcast and others I’ve done; I find it a bit more difficult to put thoughts into words when I’m speaking than when I’m writing. As I’m moving soon, I’m also hoping to set up a more interesting background in the future!

You can watch the video below!

About velociraptor256

Hi, my name's Richard. I created this blog to talk about my interests - and I have quite a few of those. I love zoology in general, herpetology in particular (especially snakes!), writing (have won National Novel Writing Month nine times so far), reading, astronomy, palaeontology, and travel. Thank you for coming to my blog, and I hope you find something that interests you here!
This entry was posted in Film Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to His Pick, Her Pick – Academy Award Winners

  1. smilingldsgirl says:

    I think you did great. If anything I can tell I’m a little tired but hopefully it didnt show too much

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

